Assessments

Ongoing formative and summative assessment is so important.  I created another Google survey but this time it is for 6.2 and then one Google Survey for 6.3.  Basically the 6.2 survey asks students to rate their understanding of different concepts on the mid-chapter review on a scale of 1-10.  This would be completed before starting the review to see if students understand the material before it is presented to them as a summative assessment.

ecmp36

This is nothing fancy but it does the job!  A quick formative assessment to see if students are understanding the concepts before starting the mid-chapter review.

I’m a strong believer in the assessment strategy of triangulation.

ecmp41

Basically this is where evidence is collected in three different ways: Observations (during activities, lecturing, work time, etc.), Conversations (talking to your students inside and outside of the classroom if they are understanding the concepts), and Products is more summative assessments (tests, assignments, projects, etc.).  I think this is a great way to assess students to see if students are understanding concepts, not just knowing them.  I started an Excel spreadsheet that I would use to record formative and summative assessments.

ecmp40

At the top is all of the methods of assessments and then I can fill it out as I go.  I think this would help me stay organized and on top of assessment.

I’m also a big believer in Bloom’s Taxonomy.  We talk a lot about this in university.

ecmp42

I realized most of my assessment so far is more on the remembering/understanding part, so  I wanted to change it up a bit!  For an assessment for 6.3 I’d have the students create their own question surrounding linear regressions.  They could pick any topic they want as long as they can find data on it and can put it into a type of question we’ve been doing in class.  Then they create their own question and then once every student is done, I’ll randomly assign everyone a question for them to complete.

ecmp50

I think this is a cool kind of assessment to do because it really shows if students understand this concept by having them create their own question.  Formative and summative assessment is very important so I thought it would be a good idea to create another blog post specifically for assessment.  Let me know if you have any questions or suggestions for different types of assessments!

 

 

5 thoughts on “Assessments

  1. Hi Carmelle,

    Great post. I totally agree — I think assessment is a crucial component of teaching, so I’m glad that you dedicated a blog post to describing the assessment strategies that you are including in your unit. I think it’s a great idea that you created a spreadsheet for yourself. I think mapping out your assessment strategies will help you to stay organized, but it will also help ensure that you have a balance of formative and summative assessments. Sometimes I think we focus too much on summative assessment (especially in math and science) and forget that formative assessment is just as, if not more, important — students need to be given feedback throughout the learning process, not just at the end.

    Thanks for the update on your Major Project — it looks like it’s really starting to come together!

    • Thanks so much for the comment Amy.
      I wish I would have thought about using a spreadsheet during my internship, but I guess later is better than never! I totally agree about being able to see if I have a balance of formative and summative. I agree that many teachers focus too much on summative assessment, I’m guilty of having many more summative assessment than formative assessment. When I reflect on my experiences in internship, I definitely see I should have used more formative assessment. Live and learn! Formative is so important though and very underrated! Thanks again for the comment!

  2. Great post! I love seeing how your project is coming along. I really love the idea of the students creating their own questions; it really shows that they know the concept. A great way to continue the idea would be for them to pair and try and solve each others questions (or in your case, you take the questions and have it become a summative assessment) just so it feels genuine. I know I ran into the trouble during internship that I couldn’t put my formative assessments into my gradebook.
    Great work!

    • Thanks! It is coming along! I totally agree, students creating questions gets them to go above and beyond. Great minds think alike! If you click on the hyperlink for the assignment, it explains that once the questions are marked, the will be randomly handed out for students to complete one of their peers questions. I’m glad to hear I’m not the only one who struggled with that!

Leave a Reply

