Desmos Activity Builder

I had to find math blogs for my EMTH class and I found a blog that I really liked.  This teacher posted a lot of great activities.  She does a lot with integrating technology and mathematics.  There was one post she did on Desmos Activity Builder.  I love Desmos ,Desmos is a free online graphing calculator, and I use it all the time in the classroom.  I had never heard of Desmos Activity Builder before, but it’s such a cool resource!!  It’s basically an interactive PowerPoint.  You can go through the slides at the board and then students can view the slides on their own device.  You can have students answer questions, do multiple choice activities, you can have students graph things, and much more!
ecmp2
I decided to try the Activity Builder out for my polynomials unit.  I went back to 6.2 and made some card sorting activities that students could do.  Making these activities takes a lot less time than making card sorting activities yourself!  Basically there are a bunch of cards and you sort them into groups.  I absolutely love Desmos Activity Builder and think it’s an easy way to create an interactive lesson.  Try out the activities I made and let me know what you think!

2 thoughts on “Desmos Activity Builder

  1. I can’t even tell you how excited I am about this tech! I’m thinking back to how many hours I put into creating my mix and match graphing activities (way too many) and I’m so pleased to see such a good use for Desmos! Another thing that you can do here would to develop an activity about the variables relating to the graphs and have students figure out how each variable is affected by changing the integer to a fraction (or vice versa) or having the negative or positive, as well as the degree of the polynomial!

Leave a comment